Happy 6 month birthday Princess!!!


6 months ago to the minute, I was meeting my daughter for the first time. Before she was born I would not have considered myself an emotional person, yes I would cry occasionally but I did not tear up over little things. Since she graced us with her presence my life has been one emotional roller coaster after another. I cried when I first saw her, I was scared when she was tested for hip dysplacia, I cried when she had her first shots, I worried when she got the string caught around her finger, I agonized over when her teeth would come in, and rejoiced and teared up when they did. Something about the no more gummy smiles made my eyes water….now today 6 months after she was born I find myself looking at her, and the child she is becoming, in awe. She is advanced for her age, she thinks she is much older than she is, while the whole time I am asking her to slow down. I never knew I could love like this. I love my parents, siblings, husband, etc….but this is a different kind of love. It’s the kind of love that if someone were to hurt her I cannot promise that I would not do the same thing to them. She is my princess, she is the light of my life. Each morning I wake up and look forward to seeing her smiling, sleepy face. She is precious. This morning I went in and sang “Happy Birthday” and she smiled and laughed, life is amazing to her. She loves that when she hears the creak of her bedroom door that if she looks she will see someone hoping to catch a glimpse of her. And when she sees them her face will break into a huge grin (like her Daddy’s goofy grin) and she will bury her face in her mattress in excitement. This is the little girl we spent months preparing for, praying for and prepping ourselves for. She is beautiful, she is full of life, she is our daughter. Happy birthday Princess!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 11:14:52

    Happy 6 months Avonlea! We love you more than words could ever express! And now Missy you have experienced all the love, joy and fulfillment we experienced with you! You were our little Princess and now you have your very own!!!!! Love you both!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

