Sombering…..


Well tonight my hubby and I sat down to dinner and he chose to watch Titanic, he had never seen it and thought it would be a good watch. So we did. Now I am sitting here a bit after watching the movie and looking at things through different eyes. The last time I watched this movie was a good 10 years or so ago….and I remember it sticking with me then too for very different reasons. Then I was young, I had a boyfriend I am sure at the time, who was sure to have been “The One”….and the story of Jack and Rose was sure to have played on my heartstrings like those poor musicians on the boat playing until the end. I am sure I cried as Rose and Jack spoke their final conversation, and as Rose pried his hands off of hers as she whispered “I’ll never let go”. Now a good 10 years later, give or take a few, I found myself focusing and tearing up at different parts of the movie. For example, the part where the mother and 2 young daughters are forced on a life boat having to leave the father behind. At that scene I looked at my husband and I thank God that I have a man that I love and that I could not have left on that boat. I also was touched by the lady holding the infant asking where to go….a scene, I am sure, 10 years ago would not have even lingered in my thought. And then again, awhile later, when that same woman and infant are frozen floating on the seas. Maybe it’s because now, at a different point in my life, I am identifying with characters that I never had the experience to identify with before. Thankfully, I have had the chance to experience these aspects of my life to which I was blind to before. I am now married, with a husband, who given the opportunity would give me and my precious baby anything he can, and if he couldn’t he would fight to get us as much as he could. I am blessed with a daughter who is asleep in the other room, on her tummy (a new favorite of hers), sleeping soundly. A child I love more than I ever had thought possible. My life has changed very much in the last decade, and none of it would I change for all the worldly riches that would inevitably fade away. I highly recommend, if you have not seen this movie in some time….watch it, reevaluate and prioritize. I’m glad that I did.

P.S.- in a side note, a friend of mine has a friend who is trying to raise money to adopt their soon to be new baby from Ethiopia. They are selling dresses and purses to raise money to help fund the adoption, for more info please visit: http://www.laurenalexis1.blogspot.com/ and if you are unable to purchase or donate to this cause, please keep this family in your prayers as they look to complete their family.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    May 24, 2010 @ 23:45:27

    Hi Missy! Thank you so much for spreading the word about the blog sale! And thank you soooo much for the prayers! We are so excited and know that adopting Tucker is only the beginning! : )

    Reply

    • stepgirl
      May 24, 2010 @ 23:48:17

      You are SOOOOO welcome!!! I am so glad I saw this so I could share it with my readers. I will be checking to see what you may have that I can purchase, but I am definitely keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers. Hope you get to bring Tucker home soon!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

